UNDERGROUND RESISTENCE (The Wire 285)

Mark’s first feature for the magazine was a rare in-person interview with Detroit techno collective Underground Resistance, whom he met in the Netherlands. “Securing the interview was a gruelling trial of faith, involving missed emails, late night phone calls, postponements and a rearranged travel itinerary,” he writes. “My innate paranoia intensified by sleep deprivation, I had begun to imagine that I was being subjected to a programme of UR psychological warfare.” When he eventually sits down with UR’s Mad Mike, he finds an interviewee full of warmth and ideas, talking widely about Marvel comics, progressive rock and playing organ in his local church. Mad Mike insisted on remaining masked for the feature’s photographs. “People need a face all the time and for many years I don’t give them a face, but now – internet, cellphone – people take pictures of me, the shit’s all over the internet.” he explains in the interview. ”I figure, well, hopefully the people will still have some honour, and honour my wish not to be seen in front of my music.”

http://www.thewire.co.uk/in-writing/the-portal/archive-portal-mark-fisher

spread_40

spread_40-2

spread_42

spread_42-2

spread_44spread_44-2

spread_46

spread_46-2


Leave a comment